History

TOP

2017

Philipp Keller takes charge of KKL Luzern Management AG as CEO on 1 April 2017.

2016

KKL Luzern wins the coveted Swiss Location Award for ‘Best Congress Location in Switzerland’. The best event locations in Switzerland were voted for in nine categories by over 4000 visitors and organisers, along with an independent panel of experts.

2016

Over 17 years after its opening, KKL Luzern has created over a billion Swiss francs for the city and region of Lucerne. A study from HSG in 2011 found that KKL Luzern generates around an extra 75m Swiss francs per year for its local area.

2015

KKL Luzern’s board of directors and foundation board reorganised the strategic management of the centre at the end of 2015 and separated the chairing of KKL Luzern Management AG and the foundation. Markus Thumiger became chair of the foundation in September, while Peter Mendler (pictured) took over as chairman of the board of directors.

2015

KKL Luzern wins the 2015 Swiss MICE Award in the convention centre category.

2014

The Canton of Lucerne, the city and KKL Lucerne agree on a financing arrangement for the long-term maintenance of KKL Luzern’s value until 2028.

2013

The KKL Luzern takes over the rental and management of the Terrace Hall at the Museum of Art, thus complementing its selection of venues with an attractive location.

2012

Opening of the event Pavillion on the Lucerne Terrace. The temporary flat roof construction, which matches the architecture of the KKL Luzern in terms of form and colour, offers an additional option for events of all kinds.

2011

The newly appointed CEO, Hans. E. Koch, assumes operational responsibility for KKL Luzern and becomes Managing Director of the Foundation.

2010

Pius Zängerle becomes Chairman of the board of directors of KKL Luzern and President of the Foundation.

2007

Opening of the Crystal Lounge.

2004

Opening of the World Café and Restaurant RED.

2003

As CEO, Elisabeht Dalucas assumes operational responsibility for KKL Luzern and becomes Managing Director of the Foundation. At the same time, the Seebar at the KKL Luzern is reopened as a comfortable lounge. With 55.8% of the votes, the electorate of the city of Lucerne approve the structural relief and operational stability of the KKL Luzern to the sum of 18 million Swiss francs.

2002

Hans-Peter Aebi becomes Chairman of the board of directors of KKL Luzern and President of the Foundation.

2001

According to the final accounts, the total cost for the construction of the KKL Luzern amounts to 226.5 million Swiss francs, 32.5 million more than planned.

2000

Inauguration and opening of the entire venue and the Museum of Art Lucerne.

1998

Inauguration of the Concert Hall with a ceremonial act on august 18th 1998 with the Luzerner Sinfonieorchester LSO, the Luzerner Trompeten-Ensemble and the federal president Flavio Cotti. Conductor Claudio Abbado and the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra giving the opening concert of the International Music Festival (now Lucerne Festival) the day after (19th august 1998).

1996

Foundation of KKL Luzern Management AG for the operation of the venue by five leading Lucerne personalities. The first chairman of the board of directors is Hans-Peter Balmer.

1995

Digger fixed into position and ground-breaking ceremony takes place in January.

1994

With 65.7% of the vote, the electorate of the City of Lucerne approve 94 million Swiss francs for the construction of a new Culture and Convention Centre.

1993

In November, the government of the city and canton of Lucerne grant 94 million Swiss francs for the construction of the Culture and Convention Centre. The building contractor ARGE EMI / Göhner Merkur conclude a total contractor agreement with capped costs.

1992

Rodolphe Luscher abandons the project. Jean Nouvel is peruaded by the trusteeship to come to the rescue and present his architectural concept.

1991

The old Culture and Convention Centre will not be protected as a listed building. Business consultant Thomas Heldis is appointed overall coordinator for cultural activities.

1989

The architects Jean Nouvel and Emmanuel Cattani, Paris, win the architectural competition to design a new concert venue in Lucerne. The city of Lucerne and the Foundation of the Concert Venue decide to choose third-placed architect, Rodolphe Luscher from Geneva, to realise the project.

1988

Establishment of the Concert Venue Foundation under President Walter von Moos. Hayek study on the optimisation of cultural spaces in the city of Lucerne. Alice Bucher, publisher and patron of the arts, gives the city of Lucerne 960,000 Swiss francs for the implementation of an architecture competition.

1980

The poor structural condition of the old Culture and Convention Centre (built in 1933/1934 by architect Armin Meili) is discovered.

Geschichte

OBEN

2017

Philipp Keller übernimmt per 1. April 2017 als CEO die operative Leitung der KKL Luzern Management AG.

2016

Das KKL Luzern gewinnt den begehrten Swiss Location Award als «beste Kongresslocation der Schweiz». In insgesamt neun Kategorien wurden die schönsten Event-Lokale der Schweiz von über 4'000 Besuchern und Veranstaltern sowie einer unabhängigen Fachjury gewählt. 

2016

Über 17 Jahre nach seiner Eröffnung übertrifft das KKL Luzern erstmals die Milliarden-Marke hinsichtlich Wertschöpfung. Pro Jahr generiert das KKL Luzern rund 75 Millionen Schweizer Franken Wertschöpfung für die Stadt und die Region Luzern, wie die HSG in der Wertschöpfungsstudie von 2011 berechnete. 

2015

Stiftungs- und Verwaltungsrat des KKL Luzern haben Ende 2015 die strategische Leitung des Hauses neu organisiert und im Kern die Präsidien der KKL Luzern Management AG und der Trägerstiftung getrennt. Im September übernimmt Markus Thumiger das Präsidium der Trägerstiftung, Peter Mendler (im Bild) folgt als Verwaltungsratspräsident.

2015

Das KKL Luzern erhält den «Swiss MICE Award 2015» in der Kategorie «Kongresszentrum».

2014

Der Kanton Luzern, die Stadt und das KKL Luzern einigen sich auf ein Finanzierungsmodell für die langfristige Werterhaltung des KKL Luzern bis 2028.

2013

Das KKL Luzern übernimmt die Vermietung und Bewirtschaftung des Terrassensaals im Kunstmuseum und kann damit sein Raumangebot um einen attraktiven Standort ergänzen.

2012

Eröffnung des Event-Pavillons auf der Luzerner Terrasse. Die temporäre Flachdachkonstruktion, die sich in Form und Farbe der Architektur des KKL Luzern anpasst, bietet eine zusätzliche Möglichkeit für Veranstaltungen jeglicher Art.

2011

Hans. E. Koch übernimmt als CEO die operative Verantwortung für das KKL Luzern und wird Geschäftsführer der Trägerstiftung.

2010

Pius Zängerle wird Verwaltungsratspräsident des KKL Luzern und Präsident der Trägerstiftung.

2007

Eröffnung der Crystal Lounge.

2004

Das World Café und das Restaurant RED werden eröffnet.

2003

Elisabeht Dalucas übernimmt als CEO die operative Verwantwortung für das KKL Luzern und wird Geschäftsführerin der Trägerstiftung. Zeitgleich wird die Seebar im KKL Luzern als bequeme Lounge wieder eröffnet. Mit 55.8% der Stimmen heissen die Stimmberechtigten der Stadt Luzern die strukturelle Entlastung und betriebliche Stabilisierung des KKL Luzern mit 18 Millionen Franken gut.

2002

Hans-Peter Aebi wird Verwaltungsratspräsident des KKL Luzern und Präsident der Trägerstiftung.

2001

Das KKL Luzern kostet gemäss definitiver Bauabrechnung 226.5 Millionen Franken, 32.5 Millionen Franken mehr als geplant.

2000

Einweihung und Eröffnung des gesamten Hauses und des Kunstmuseums Luzern.

1998

Festakt zur Eröffnung des Konzertsaals am 18. August 1998 mit dem Luzerner Sinfonieorchester LSO, dem Luzerner Trompeten-Ensemble und dem damaligen Bundespräsidenten Flavio Cotti. Tags darauf Eröffnungskonzert der Internationalen Musikfestwochen Luzern (heute Lucerne Festival) mit Dirigent Claudio Abbado und den Berliner Philharmonikern.

1996

Gründung der KKL Luzern Management AG zum Betrieb des Hauses durch fünf Luzerner Persönlichkeiten. Im Bild: Verwaltungsratspräsident der Management AG (MAG), Hans-Rudolf Schurter (2.v.l.), Verwaltungsratsdelegierter Hans Kaufmann (2.v.r.) und Verwaltungsrat Jürg Reinshagen (1.v.r.).

1995

Baggerfest und erster Spatenstich im Januar.

1994

Mit 65.7% der Stimmen bewilligen die Stimmberechtigten der Stadt Luzern 94 Millionen Franken für den Bau eines neuen Kultur- und Kongresszentrums.

1993

Die Regierung von Stadt und Kanton Luzern bewilligen im November 94 Millionen Franken für den Bau des neuen Kultur-und Kongresszentrums. Die Bauherrschaft ARGE EWI / Göhner Merkur schliesst einen Totalunternehmervertrag mit Kostendach ab.

1992

Rodolphe Luscher verzichtet auf das Projekt. Jean Nouvel wird von der Trägerschaft zum Wiedereinstieg bewegt und legt das architektonische Konzept vor.

1991

Das alte Kultur-und Kongresszentrum wird nicht unter Denkmalschutz gestellt. Unternehmensberater Thomas Held wird Gesamtkoordinator Kulturraum.

1989

Die Architekten Jean Nouvel, Emmanuel Cattani, Paris, gewinnen den Architekturwettbewerb für ein neues Konzerthaus in Luzern. Die Stadt Luzern und die Stiftung Konzerthaus verfolgen für die Realisierung das Projekt des drittplatzierten Rodolphe Luscher, Genf.

1988

Gründung der Stiftung Konzerthaus unter Präsident Walter von Moos. Hayek-Studie zur Optimierung der Kulturräume der Stadt Luzern. Alice Bucher, Verlegerin und Mäzenin, schenkt der Stadt Luzern 960'000 Franken für die Durchführung eines Architekturwettbewerbs.

1980

Der schlechte bauliche Zustand des alten Kultur- und Kongresshauses aus den Jahren 1933/1934 von Architekt Armin Meili wird bekannt.