Architecture

TOP

Architect: visionary of the KKL Luzern

The French architect Jean Nouvel designed the KKL Luzern and built it according to his plans between 1995 and 2000. His Jean Nouvel practice in Paris is active throughout the world. His projects include museums, convention centres, concert halls, prestigious office buildings and residential buildings. Nouvel is one of the leading architects of our time. In June 2008, in Washington D.C., he was awarded the Pritzker Prize. Awarded for the thirtieth time, this is the highest award available to architects and is regarded as the 'Nobel Prize for Architecture'.

Location: in the heart of the city

The KKL Luzern is centrally located in the city of Lucerne. The venue is located directly on Lake Lucerne in close proximity to the international train station, which was designed by Santiago Calatrava. The old town, which can be reached via the famous Chapel Bridge and the Water Tower, is located just a few hundred metres from the KKL Luzern. On the opposite shore of the lake – the Lucerne Riviera – lies the 19th century part of the city with its stately hotels. The KKL Luzern is embedded in an architecturally diverse area.

Inclusion: a fusion of nature and construction

Originally, Jean Nouvel planned to build the new Concert Hall in the form of a ship, heading directly into the lake. This idea could not be realised for urban and ecological reasons. Nouvel revised the project and came to the following conclusion: if I can't go to the water, then the water will come to me. Nouvel uses the term ‘inclusion’ to describe his ideas, explaining that the outside comes inside, and the inside goes outside. Using water channels that lead directly into the building, and a roof that extends over the Lake, Nouvel made certain that his notion of Inclusion took on a real-world format.

Reflection: fascinating reflections

The height of the markedly overhanging roof decreases against the roof edge to practically zero. With this feature, it resolves the thickness of the steel construction into a thin line. The flat aluminum plates of the view from below reinforce the impression of lightness, as they reflect the waves of the lake and this in turn reflects the roof of the KKL Luzern. Nouvel consciously played with the idea of reflection. This is further expressed in the materials he used. They change depending on the incidence of light and the perspective, the views and impressions of the building. In addition, the water flows through channels and pools as an intensifying expression of reflection.

Areas: ships in the shipyard

The two water channels separate the building into three individual parts: The Concert Hall area; the Lucerne Hall area; as well as the convention and museum area. The three buildings line up like ships in the shipyard and each is distinguished by its separate identity. They are united by the wide dark roof, which covers a large part of Europaplatz, and the service provision area. This is the backbone of the entire building and makes all the units accessible.

Concert Hall area

The Concert Hall area is characterised by its opacity (lack of translucency) and thus stands in stark contrast to the convention area. Nouvel used unusual colours like garnet red, deep green and midnight blue for this part of the venue. The outer walls of the Concert Hall are clad in wood. The curved shape of this outer wall pushes into the angular Foyer and is deliberately reminiscent of a cello case.

Lucerne Hall area

The Lucerne Hall is polyvalent and kept simple. It should be able to disappear during an event and allow organisers to have the option of personalizing it for an event. The cubed construction made of concrete is slightly offset to the rear to further express the subtle nature.

Convention area

The convention area is an urban and transparent cuboid. The façade facing the station is equipped with different lattice structures. The building therefore looks like a bird cage, because from the train station it is possible to see through the lattice structure to the landscape and the sky.

Architektur

OBEN

Architekt: Visionär des KKL Luzern

Der französische Architekt Jean Nouvel hat das KKL Luzern entworfen und zwischen 1995 und 2000 nach seinen Plänen bauen lassen. Sein Atelier Jean Nouvel in Paris ist auf der ganzen Welt tätig. Zu seinen Projekten gehören Museen, Kongresshäuser, Konzertsäle, prestigeträchtige Bürogebäude und Wohnbauten. Nouvel ist einer der führenden Architekten der Gegenwart. Im Juni 2008 wurde er in Washington D.C. mit dem zum dreissigsten Mal verliehenen Pritzker-Prize ausgezeichnet - die höchste Auszeichnung für Architekten gilt als «Nobel-Preis der Architektur».

Standort: Im Herzen der Stadt

Das KKL Luzern liegt an zentralster Lage mitten in der Stadt Luzern. Das Haus befindet sich direkt am Vierwaldstättersee in unmittelbarer Nähe zum internationalen Bahnhof, der von Santiago Calatrava entworfen wurde. Nur wenige hundert Meter vom KKL Luzern entfernt befindet sich die Altstadt, die über die berühmte Kapellbrücke mit dem Wasserturm erreichbar ist. Am gegenüberliegenden Seeufer, der Luzerner Riviera, liegt der Stadtteil aus dem 19. Jahrhundert mit seinen stattlichen Hotels. Das KKL Luzern ist in eine architektonisch sehr vielfältige Gegend eingebettet.

Inclusion: Verschmelzung von Natur und Bau

Ursprünglich plante Jean Nouvel, den neuen Konzertsaal in Schiffsform direkt in den See zu bauen. Aus städtebaulichen und ökologischen Gründen konnte diese Idee nicht realisiert werden. Nouvel überarbeitete das Projekt und kam zu folgender Lösung: Wenn ich nicht zum Wasser gehen kann, soll das Wasser zu mir kommen. Mit dem Begriff Inclusion beschreibt Nouvel seine Idee, das Äussere nach Innen und das Innere nach aussen zu tragen. Mit Wasserkanälen, die direkt ins Gebäude hinein führen, und einem Dach, das bis über den See hinaus reicht, gibt Nouvel seiner Idee der Inclusion eine konkrete Form.

Reflexion: Faszinierende Spiegelungen

Die Höhe des weit auskragenden Daches verringert sich gegen den Dachrand praktisch auf null. Mit dieser Eigenschaft löst es als dünne Linie die Mächtigkeit der stählernen Konstruktion auf. Die planen Aluminiumplatten der Untersicht verstärken den Eindruck der Leichtigkeit sie widerspiegeln die Wellen des Sees und dieser widerspiegelt wiederum das Dach des KKL Luzern. Nouvel spielt bewusst mit der Idee der Reflexion. Weiter ausgedrückt wird sie durch die verwendeten Materialien. Diese verändern, je nach Lichteinfall und Blickwinkel, die Ansichten und Eindrücke des Gebäudes. Hinzu kommt das Wasser in den Kanälen und Bassins als verstärkender Ausdruck der Reflexion.

Trakte: Schiffe in der Werft

Durch die zwei Wasserkanäle entstanden drei eigenständige Gebäudeteile: Konzertsaal-Trakt, Luzerner Saaltrakt sowie Kongress- und Museumstrakt. Die drei Gebäude reihen sich wie Schiffe in der Werft aneinander und unterscheiden sich durch ihre eigenständige Identität. Vereint sind sie durch das weit ausladende Dach, welches einen grossen Teil des Europaplatzes bedeckt, und den Dienstleistungstrakt. Dieser bildet das Rückgrat des gesamten Gebäudes und erschliesst sämtliche Einheiten.

Konzertsaaltrakt

Der Konzertsaaltrakt zeichnet sich durch seine Opazität (mangelnde Durchlässigkeit) aus und steht somit in starkem Kontrast zum Kongresstrakt. Nouvel verwendete für diesen Teil des Hauses ungewöhnliche Farben wie granatrot, tiefgrün oder nachtblau. Der Konzertsaal ist an der Aussenwand mit Holz verkleidet. Die gewölbte Form dieser Aussenwand drängt in das kantige Foyer und erinnert bewusst an einen Cellokasten.

Luzerner Saaltrakt

Der Luzerner Saal ist polyvalent und schlicht gehalten. Er soll bei einem Anlass verschwinden und Veranstaltern die Möglichkeit geben, einen Anlass individuell zu gestalten. Der Kubus-Bau aus Beton ist leicht nach hinten versetzt um seiner Subtilität weiteren Ausdruck zu verleihen.

Kongresstrakt

Der Kongresstrakt ist ein urbaner und transparenter Quader. Die Fassade zum Bahnhof hin ist mit unterschiedlichen Gitterstrukturen ausgestattet. Der Bau wirkt dadurch wie ein Vogelkäfig, denn vom Bahnhof her sieht man durch die Gitterstruktur hindurch die Landschaft und den Himmel.